Be led into the obscure

Must-have Alice Cooper tracks

In the follow-up of our post on Alice Cooper entering the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame, here is a list of must have tracks…

Alice Cooper, the grand daddy of rock music and the Godfather of bands like Megadeth, is a must listen for anyone who has a taste for rock music, particularly shock rock, heavy metal and hard rock.  Ranking #20 on VH1’s ‘100 Greatest artists of Hard Rock’ Cooper continues to rock the fans with his career span of about four decades.

Alice Cooper

Alice Cooper

This holiday season the shock-rock legend hit the headlines by serving up a magical Chirstmas Pudding concert with the band’s original line-up amid the news that Alice Cooper was one among the 2011 inductees into the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame.

Alice Cooper has given numerous hits for rock lovers and here are some of his ultimate tracks which, finally, took the band into the Hall of Fame and should definitely be on your music playlist:

School’s Out
Album: School’s Out
Year: 1972

Alice Cooper mentioned in an interview that he wanted to capture the last three minutes of the last day of school. He wanted to capture the feeling of a slow fuse burning in a song. Everything else is pretty evident in the song. The burning of the school is one of those images that will always remain fresh in many rock fans memories.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“School’s out for summer,
School’s out forever
School’s been blown to pieces”

No More Mr. Nice Guy
Album: Billion Dollar Babies
Year: 1973

A song that made Alice Cooper reach the #1 spot on US and UK charts. It was basically written by Cooper about the reactions he received from his mother’s church group for his shock rock influenced stage shows.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“No more Mister Nice Guy
No more Mister Clean
No more Mister Nice Guy
They say he’s sick, he’s obscene”

I’m Eighteen
Album: Love It to Death
Year: 1971

A perfect rock anthem for a confused teenager.  The song depicts the struggles of a teenage mind as it captures the angst of those glorious years.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“Lines form on my face and my hands
Lines form on the left and right
I’m in there middle
the middle of life
I’m a boy and I’m a man
I’m eighteen and I like it”

Poison
Album: Trash
Year: 1989

One of the biggest hits of Alice Cooper topping US and UK charts. The song is all about forbidden love.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“I hear you calling and it’s needles and pins (And pins)
I want to hurt you just to hear you screaming my name
Don’t want to touch you but you’re under my skin (Deep in)
I want to kiss you but your lips are venomous poison
You’re poison running through my veins
You’re poison, I don’t wanna break these chains
Poison”

Is It My Body
Album: Love It to Death
Year: 1971

The band shifted focus from psychedelic rock and refined its sound to produce this hit track.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“What have I got
that makes you want to love me
Is it my body
or someone I might be
or somethin’ inside me”

Desperado
Album: Killer
Year: 1971

This song is a tribute to Jim Morrison from Alice Cooper. It also happens to be an attempt to progressive rock from the shock-rock band.

Lyrics Excerpt:
“I wear lace
And I wear black leather
My hands are lightning upon my gun”

Leave a Reply

